Allgemein · Tokyo everyday life

Akasaka Borderless House

Hey guys!

Since Friday I am living in the borderless house of Akasaka.

C-001
Picture from the official website: borderless-house.com/jp/sharehouse/h/akasaka

It’s nice to see it so clean on the picture! This was taken apparently when the house had just opened, and although we try our best to keep it clean, it definitely looks nowhere like this.

The borderless house is a share house with a strong focus on internationality. They make big point out of looking whether or not there is enough diversitiy between male and female, japanese and non-japanese tenants.

We are a bunch of young adults between 18 and 35 – in our house almost everyone is around 24 – we are students, interns, backpack-travellers, normal office workers, you name it. So of course things can get messy around here a lot. It is however part of the experience here that we communicate about that and organise cleaning responsibilities and the like.

Although I have been busy with curing my jetlag and some sightseeing, this has already been so much fun staying here! On my first day here, people were invited from other borderless houses in the area to just get together and have some drinks. I met so many people!

DSC_1734
This is Akasaka House from outside.

I’m sharing my room with a girl named Miki, which is actually the name of my very first hostsister as well. She is very nice and we get along speaking equally as much Japanese and English. It is such a relief finally to be able to communicate with the people I’m living together with!

Out of the fifteen people that could live in Akasaka House, apparently only ten are actually living here. So far, besides the residents of the other houses I’ve met on Friday, I met three japanese guys, three japanese girls, a french girl and a korean guy, who moved out today. The others seem to be going out a lot or maybe have a different sleeping pattern than I do.

Today I went to a exhibition with my french housemate, Adele. She has been here for three weeks and we exchanged some stories. Afterwards we went to an exhibition about the art of construction work. She is working in designing products and got quite the interest in that. And although I did not, it was really fun going out and seeing the presentations of measurements against beach erosions or the massive layout of Shinjuku station. Plus they had a super serious Japanese on a video talking about building a dam out of rice for your japanese curry. I laughed.

Leave a Reply

