Thoughts · Tokyo everyday life

Rainy Days

Hello everybody.

These days the typhoon hit Tokyo, which meant strong wind while raining every now and then. It is not as strong as everyone expected. A japanese friend straight out told me to just stay inside if I had the chance last week-end, but where would be the fun in that?

When going out, whether it was raining or not for the moment, I often had to go right back inside. Reason was in most cases not the bad weather, but my very german mindset telling me: if it rained for an entire day straight it is simply impossible to have a temperature of more than 12°C. Very accurate for german weather – not that accurate in Japan however.

Yesterday I went out in long trousers and immediately regretted that particular decision. It was rather close to 25°C and the moment I stepped out of the door I started sweating. Just another thing I will have to get accustomed to – not listening to my german voice of reason.

When back outside in the rain I noticed a thing I found to be very Japanese. When encountering rain, even if it is only light rain, apparently you have two options to pick from:

Case 1. You brought an umbrella. Nice. You are a neat Japanese citizen. Go on.

Case 2. You did not bring an umbrella but still need to go to that place. Jog a bit and casually hold a hand above your head. Try to look a bit ashamed that you did not bring an umbrella.

These seem to be the applying rules. After noticing that much, I kept an eye out for the alternatives – and I found them. Every now and then, through the masses of umbrellas, you can see a single person not jogging awkwardly. They stroll around leisurely in the rain and even sometimes have the faintest smile on their lips. They and their enjoyment have made me so happy these few days. For example this cute couple beneath the trees, that just enjoyed eachothers company and did not care about their umbrellas anymore.

DSC_1739
Secret picture of a couple in the rain.

Even though I try to always carry an umbrella, I am somehow feeling connected with these rebellous rulebrakers. They break out of the social standart and they don’t mind standing out. As a foreigner in Japan, that is something I just can’t help but sympathise with.

Leave a Reply

