Art · Fun · Looking back · Popculture

Birthday Adventures

Hey there,

yesterday was my birthday and I turned 22, yay! Thank you guys for all the congratulations and good wishes! I’m going to tell you about my day in this entry, because there was just so much stuff we did and it was such a fun birthday, that I want to share it with you.

When I got home from work on friday, the birthday adventure kind of already started with my housemates asking me, if I would join them for a drink at a new bar in the area. I was really in the mood, so I kind of joined them without really knowing what to expect. I guess the proper term for a bar like that would be “experimental”. The interior was kept rustic and woodsy and they really took a liking to smoke – as in a wood fired smoker. I do remind you, that this was a bar – not a restaurant! So we actually had our drinks and cocktails with a smokey flavor to it and it was so good! Also it was very expensive.

dsc_2139
The drinks we ordered. I had the one in front in the bowl – the ingredients included chocolate powder and japanese green tea.

While drinking, my housemates tried to wish me a “happy early birthday” and gave me a hard time explaining to them that this brings bad luck in Germany. Memories came back from my sixteenth birthday, which my hostfamily decided to celebrate two days in advance, because I was having school on the weekend. At that time it was a very nice evening after all with really good sushi and they even got me a very nice yukata, but I was all in tears on my birthday itself and felt so far away from everyone, because they had already congatulated me and that was it.

This time couldn’t have been any more different, though. We left the bar, bought some wine and set down in front of our house in the middle of the street, because some people wanted to smoke and that is forbidden inside the house. The borderless house is in a blind alley, so it was really a quiet and calm place to chill that late in the evening. And while we were sitting there and quietly chatting, all the time switching between Japanese and English, it finally turned midnight. My housemates began to sing for me and congatulated me and I ran up to my room to get them some german chocolate I bought beforehand and it was all so wonderful and perfect and we kept sitting outside for a few more hours.

14374591_693421970812159_891961881_o
A picture a housemate took. I am on the far left, desperately trying to be in the picture 😀
dsc_2166
Birthday cards and chocolate!

After going to sleep that late, unfortunately, I had to get up early later that day. I opened the birthday cards I received and a small present from my boyfriend, who got me german chocolate because I had missed that and wanted to share. He also got me coffee and some stuff I had forgotten to bring here.

dsc_2169
A fancy breakfast.

Since friday was the last day of work for the two trainees that worked with me, my supervisor invited us to his apartment for breakfast and they all remembered it was my birthday. My supervisor even got me one of those expensive small japanese cakes! It was delicious.

I afterwards met up with my german friend, who arrived with me in Japan in August. She was travelling for the past two weeks through the Kansai region and we had so much to catch up on, we basically spend the rest of the day talking… But I also got us free tickets from the embassy for an exhibition in Odaiba. It was a ninja exhibition for little kids and we had so embarassingly much fun! The exhibition was devided into an explanatory part about the historical facts and an active part where we could learn to tiptoe like a ninja and throw shuuriken like a ninja and we learned the distinctive hand formations for gathering chakra and gaining concentration. At the end we received a “ninja certificate” and yes, we were even more proud and excited than the preschoolers!

And even though we only had the time for this special exhibition and didn’t get to see the amazing regular exhibition about future technology, it was all in all such a fun day we spent together! I’m definitely going back to the museum at some point though. Being able to see the future technologies of Japan is just really a chance to jump at.

Leave a Reply

