Tokyo everyday life

Yesterday I saved a Duck

Hey guys.

When I left the embassy yesterday night I noticed something in the middle of the street. At first I thought it was just a plastic bag, but that would have been a bit unusual in the clean streets of Tokyo and the thing moved strangely. When I came closer, a man jumped on the street and picked it up. As it didn’t like being picked up and started to move it’s wings wildly, I could finally see that this thing was indeed a duck.

The man left it on the side of the road, but something seemed very off about this duck. Two younger girls and me stopped and checked on it, only to see that the ducks neck was ripped open on the right side. It always moved his head, so it wouldn’t expose that certain part.

dsc_2548

At once we took it to the next police station and they told us to take it to a veterinarian. It was quite the walk, but we finally got there. We placed it in a box and washed and sanitized our hands. However, the vet only took in cats and dogs. Still, they immediately tried to call other veterianians, specialized in wildlife or birds. They even found one and printed a map for us.

dsc_2549
The duck was very calm and didn’t panic much.

From that part on, I was on my own. The younger girls needed to return to their parents. I took the duck in its box with me and went to the specialized vet, where they told me, that – with the right treatment – the duck had a very high chance of recovery.

When I explained the situation, the vet didn’t even charge me. They informed me, however, that in that case they would have to treat the duck depending on their wildlife funds.

This could mean, that the duck might not be cured completely, but if I’m honest, I’m just so happy that they took the duck in and promised to do their best for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Yesterday I saved a Duck

  1. Hey Ari, I was just replying to your comment on my blog and then somehow managed to delete everything … :/
    But thanks for the kick in the butt! ๐Ÿ™‚ will get onto it tonight..
    Just browsed through yours and you’re doing a lot better than me haha – really enjoyed reading ๐Ÿ™‚
    So I’ve found out you’re working for the German embassy? Then our paths probably crossed on October 3 as I was there in the evening? Would be a pretty funny coincidence ๐Ÿ™‚
    Greetings, Anna ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Anna,
      thanks for your comment and your kind words!
      This would be just so much of a coincidence, we must have at leat seen eachother on october third๐Ÿ˜€ I was working at the gate for the main part, but I also spent some time in the gardens later on. Where you there as a part of your internship?
      Iโ€™m looking forward to reading more on your blog soon.๐Ÿ™‚
      Love, Ari

      Like

Leave a Reply

