Tokyo everyday life

Earthquake near Fukushima Prefecture

Hello,

this is a very short entry, as I just wanted to say: everything is alright.

An earthquake with a magnitude of over 7 hit near Fukushima Prefecture this morning at 6 am and of course everyone’s first thought went to the catastrophes of 2011 where the situation was quite similar.

earthquake1
Source: jma.go.jp

As you can see in the chart, it was also quite noticeable here in Tokyo. I was still sleeping, and as everyone who ever shared a room with me can confirm: when I sleep nothing will wake me up that easily.

I did open my eyes at some point because this earthquake lasted several minutes. But at no point did I have a feeling of actually being in danger.

At the embassy, everything is business as usual. I’ll keep you guys updated if anything else should occur.

Leave a Reply

