Tokyo everyday life

Things I probably won’t miss

Hey guys,

only one more week is left of my three months here in Japan and again I want to take this chance and take stock.

I have been waiting so long to come back to Japan and these three months really proved to me that I definitely see myself working here in the future, too. However, as with everything that you love, there are certainly some things you could very well live without:

___________________________________________________________________

  • Cars blarring noises

Whether it is the refuse collection making a turn, a truck promoting an event or a new band, or an upcoming election for even the smallest political offices – people drive around in cars that are constantly blarring slogans and it’s annoying.

The video shows a bunch of busses informing the other drivers that they will turn left.

I guess if they just pass you by you wouldn’t even mind it as much, but as soon as you share some of its route and you hear the very same slogan repeated again and again, it just makes you crazy and I don’t get how people can live with that so casually here in Tokyo.

  • Heating by the air-conditioning systems

Using your airconditioning system to heat a room is really a weird construct to me. Only one room gets warm, it is only temporarily and the air is so dry!

I am very well aware that central heating is simply not a very clever idea in a country that has thousands of earthquakes every year. And now that I am in Tokyo, where it has been snowing yesterday for the first time in November in 54 years, I understand that the necessity for it isn’t high either.

But the houses aren’t even isolated – if it is 4 °C outside it is actually 4°C inside, too!

  • Sniffing when having a cold

I caught a very light cold last weekend and it seems so natural to me to just blow my nose when necessary. That, however, is considered rude here and as a result everyone just sniffs. A lot.

Especially when you are on a train in this season and not used to it, prepare to get very irritated. At least when you blow your nose you are done with it for a while. If you sniff, you keep sniffing.

_20161125_194829
People in the subway sniffing and sneezing.
  • My futon mattress

I borrowed a futon mattress from Borderless House when I moved here in August and although sleep is possible, I wouldn’t call it comfortable.

The blanket is huge and super fluffy and I can imagine that people from Japan would probably complain about Germany’s basic blankets but to be honest, I would give the fluffiest blanket away for a plain one just to have my mattress back!

dsc_3520
My futon mattress and the super fluffy blanket.

__________________________________________________________________

So, I guess most of my complaints are really insignificant. I will definitely come back – and if everything works out – I’ll even be back next year already.

And opposite to these few things stand a lot of more important things, which I’ll actually miss a lot and which I will tell you about soon. 😉

Leave a Reply

